2016 AMP Esme Barerra Award

music industry awards

Each year, the Austin Music People Esme Barerra Award for Music Activism and Education goes to an individual who has made a positive difference in the Austin music scene though their work with the community and who best exemplifies Esme’s spirit. A group of young people known as “Esme’s Posse” evaluates all nominations and selects the winner each year. The 2016 Esme Award went to artist and activist SaulPaul.

Past recipients have included Joel Laviolette (Rattletree School of Marimba), Melissa Graham (18Below), Darden Smith (SongwritingWith: Soldiers), and artist-activist Gina Chavez.

The Esme Award nominees for 2016 included:

Jamie Bahr, Girls Rock Camp, Kids in a New Groove, and Danger*Cakes
Bavu Blakes, artist/activist, hip hop scholar, and teacher
Randy Collier, music supporter
Nancy Coplin, longtime supporter and promoter of Austin artists
Kelley Glover, U Better Sing
Phoebe Hunt, Fuel Our Fire
Terrany Johnson, Urban Artist Alliance
Dylan Jones, Anthropos Arts
Masumi Jones, artist
Colin Kendrick, Black Fret
Marcus Lawyer, Transmission Events
Jonathan “Chaka” Mahone, Riders Against the Storm
Stella Maxwell, Spilled Milk Social Club and Cruiserweight
Jazz Mills, Top Girl Productions and artist
John Mills, artist and teacher
Margaret Moser, lifelong local music activist and supporter
Havilah Rand, artist and teacher
SaulPaul, artist and activist
Dave Sebree, Austin School of Music
Bak Zoumanigui, The FeedBak